1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Guide How to enable multicore rendering in GMod (Improve your FPS)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Simple, Jan 25, 2016.

  1. Simple

    Simple Founder Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    2,923
    Roleplay name:
    Michael Elpmis
    The July 2016 Garry's Mod update adds more official Queued (Multi-Core) Rendering:
    http://www.garrysmod.com/2016/07/06/july-2016-update/

    Use these commands:
    gmod_mcore_test 1
    mat_queue_mode -1
    cl_threaded_bone_setup 1

    ____________________________________________________________________

    Multicore rendering in GMod was 'disabled' (due to crashing, etc) in GMod years ago. And it's a huge reason your FPS sucks. In my case, I went from 50-60 FPS to 130. So a rather massive improvement.

    Keep in mind that this method is a bit hacky and crashes may occur. Although I've been using it for a few months now and haven't had any problem.

    You can enable it using the following console commands. However read on to find out the best way to do it.
    Code:
    cl_threaded_bone_setup 1
    
    cl_threaded_client_leaf_system 1
    
    r_threaded_client_shadow_manager 1
    r_threaded_particles 1
    r_threaded_renderables 1
    r_queued_ropes 1
    
    studio_queue_mode 1
    
    gmod_mcore_test 1

    The easiest way to execute this commands is using .cfg files.
    Place these 2 cfg files in your garrysmod/cfg folder:

    mcore_on.cfg
    mcore_off.cfg

    Then to enable multicore rendering, just type "exec mcore_on.cfg" in console.
    To turn it off (for whatever reason) put in "exec mcore_off.cfg".

    Obviously if everything works for you, and there is no crashes, you're going to want to enable multicore rendering everytime GMod starts up. To do this, go into your autoexec.cfg (also located in garrysmod/cfg) and put in there exec mcore_on.cfg

    Easy as that!

    Let me know if it helps! Would love to see some benchmarks on before and after.

    Credits go to Willox
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2016
    • Like Like x 4
    • Useful Useful x 3
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. Adam Connor

    Adam Connor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Posts:
    439
    thx simple, will try.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 1
  3. Grim

    Grim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    Roleplay name:
    Perm Banned
    Simple trying to give us his midget porn viruses tisk tisk tisk
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Dumb Dumb x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Sage Rasen

    Sage Rasen Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    Thanks bud
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Bad Spelling Bad Spelling x 1
  5. Mewthree

    Mewthree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Roleplay name:
    Dominic Topaz
    Tried it and my frames didn't go up by much in areas that were populated (Near mesas, town hall etc.) I went from about 65 to around 80 FPS. Then in the outskirts is where I noticed a much larger difference; went from just barely getting 100 to around 130-160 FPS. It worked for me, however, @Sage Rasen said that he noticed that his performance lowered after trying this, so this may be the case with some others as well.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. MedicStudios

    MedicStudios Server Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Posts:
    1,239
    Roleplay name:
    Ryan Trend
    I would be satified just have at least 60 fps. I hardly even get that.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. VexFallen

    VexFallen Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    57
    Roleplay name:
    Vex Knox
    After editing my graphics settings, I saw a HUGE improvement in my FPS. I would barely get 20 Frames, now I get around 35 Frames in populated areas and 50-60 Frames in Non populated areas. I m2jght use this guide to boost my frames even more...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. ArabianCamelsUnited

    ArabianCamelsUnited Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Posts:
    46
    Roleplay name:
    Eric Stalinson
    As long as this helps my potatoPC!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  9. Markoozy

    Markoozy Server Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,800
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    Very useful. I can't believe I haven't seen this until now. I consistently get about 20 frames on the server at all times except at spawn. Hopefully my FPS will improve.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Markoozy

    Markoozy Server Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,800
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    I don't seem to have an autoexec.cfg in my cfg file. What do I do?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. CoollDave

    CoollDave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    I would first run a Game Cache Verification (Verify Integrity of Game Cache) for Garry's Mod (I assume you know how to do this; if not, look here).

    If that does not solve it, do the following:
    1. Open Notepad Program (regular Notepad Windows Program)
    2. File menu
    3. Click Save As
    4. Navigate to your Garry's Mod cfg folder
    5. Change "Save as type:" from 'Text Document' to 'All Files'
    6. Change "File name:" to auoexec.cfg (MAKE SURE YOU ADD THE '.cfg' part)
    7. Hit Save and you should new have an autoexec.cfg file in your Garry's Mod cfg folder!

    You can thank me later. ;)
    -Dave
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. Mewthree

    Mewthree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    821
    Roleplay name:
    Dominic Topaz
    I'm not 100% sure but I think that since this post has been made there was an option to do this in Garry's Mod through the advanced video settings tab. Correct me if I'm wrong.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. CoollDave

    CoollDave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    Either way, you should probably verify your Game Cache in case you have any other missing files.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. |TBC| Killer Dragon

    |TBC| Killer Dragon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    34
    I usually get about 30 FPS in populated areas. maybe 70-80 in unpopulated areas.
    Still going to try this, I want the best possible preformance out of my Garrys Mod
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. CoollDave

    CoollDave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Posts:
    17
    If you don't mind asking, what are your computer specs? I'm looking to build a new computer that will run GMOD well.

    Also, Multi-Core Rendering has been added to the game's Advanced Video settings so you do not have to do these steps. Just turn it on in your settings. :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. |TBC| Killer Dragon

    |TBC| Killer Dragon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    34
    right now I have a basic 12 GB RAM which is its max sadly :( and I have a Dual Core Intel CPU, when I get the chance Ill tell you the exact model type. Im not entirely sure about the Motherboard as I am away from my pc restricted to my phone. Ill give a better description soon tough!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  17. Kai

    Kai Community Manager Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts:
    1,044
    Roleplay name:
    Ash Wright
    It doesn't work, the guide is a bypass to get it to work again.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  18. Microsoft Project

    Microsoft Project Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    Roleplay name:
    Ender Roman
    Multicore rendering makes me crash on chronet.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. VexFallen

    VexFallen Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    57
    Roleplay name:
    Vex Knox
    This is a old post really.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  20. Simple

    Simple Founder Forum Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    2,923
    Roleplay name:
    Michael Elpmis
    All the information above still applies and works with current version of GMod.

    Some people just crash using the commands (depending on hardware, OS, etc)
     
    • Like Like x 1