1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me.

Discussion in 'Hardware and Software' started by Markoozy, May 30, 2017.

  1. Markoozy

    Markoozy Retired Sever Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,901
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    - OS: Windows 10 64 bit Home Edition
    - MOBO: Asus Maximus VI Hero
    - PSU: Rosewill 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE
    - HD: WD WD10EZEX 1TB HDD SATA3 3.5"
    - GPU: EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    - CPU: Intel I7-4770k
    - RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866

    These are my system specs.

    For some reason that I have yet to surmise, some games run extremely poorly. Battlefield 1 and Mass Effect Andromeda are the worst offenders.

    Please let me know if you need more info. I'm desperate.
     
  2. Canadian-bacon

    Canadian-bacon Server Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    710
    Roleplay name:
    Hima Lowa
  3. ShadowStorm

    ShadowStorm Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    92
    Roleplay name:
    Wilfrid Clarkson
    Make sure your graphics drivers are up to date. You can download them from Nvidia's website.
     
    • Winner Winner x 1
  4. Kai

    Kai Community Manager

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Posts:
    1,226
    Roleplay name:
    Ash Conway
    Make absolutely sure you have anything XBOX related disabled, this includes Windows 10 "Game Mode".
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Markoozy

    Markoozy Retired Sever Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,901
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    Maybe, although I've seen performance test that show little improvement in BF1 between 8 and 16 gigs of RAM

    Obviously, I get those damned notifications every day.
    Pretty sure I already had when trying to fix it earlier. Will double check.
     
  6. ShadowStorm

    ShadowStorm Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    92
    Roleplay name:
    Wilfrid Clarkson
    Amount of RAM has nothing to do with gaming performance; if you aren't reaching the maximum 8GB you don't need more. That isn't the cause.

    Here is a couple of questions that might help find the issue:
    • The 1080 is a newer card, so I assume you got it recently. Did you make sure you properly uninstalled and removed all traces of your previous GPU's drivers and software?
    • Have you gotten any new components since you got windows 10?
    • Did you do a clean install of windows 10 or an "upgrade" from your previous operating system? What was your previous OS? 7?
    • What resolution are you gaming at?
    • Just how bad is "extremely poorly"?
    • What are your temperatures like on both your CPU and GPU?
    Hopefully something here catches the cause ;)
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2017
  7. Jack Traid

    Jack Traid Server Admin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Posts:
    744
    Roleplay name:
    Jack Traid
    Related to an issue I've had recently:
    Do you (Or any other users of that machine) access some "Shady" websites? *cough*.
    I had a nasty little bugger eating away at my RAM while I was trying to game. If you think this is the case scan your PC.
    (I recommend ADW if you don't have an active antivirus.)
     
  8. Markoozy

    Markoozy Retired Sever Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,901
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    Looks like a RAM issue. I restarted my pc and only ran Origin and BF1. Worked fairly well as RAM went up to 87%. Before it was at 99%. Looks like I need some more. :/

    Months ago, have done several factory resets and all drivers are updated.
    CPU fan. Not really relevant.
    Upgrade from 7.
    2K.
    I'll try to get a video up. Lots of stuttering.
    60 C for CPU no more than 80 C for GPU
    Webroot works well. That's what I have.
     
  9. Sebastian Prome

    Sebastian Prome Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2015
    Posts:
    195
    Roleplay name:
    Bodhi Pow
    Maybe you have a virus that may be effecting the ram. I know this might seem stupid but did you try reinstalling them? Also if your that desperate you should wipe your computer pm me on how
     
  10. Markoozy

    Markoozy Retired Sever Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,901
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    I have already done 4 factory resets over the past year and my anti-virus is solid.


    Here's the video.

    19:55 is some of the worst I've gotten. It starts out well in the beginning of the video, but then degrades into something like 19:55 or any moment in the second half.
     
  11. ShadowStorm

    ShadowStorm Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2016
    Posts:
    92
    Roleplay name:
    Wilfrid Clarkson
    I'm not certain, but the high memory usage could be a reason for the problems. It makes sense that when the usage hits 100% or very close, the game will experience some issues. I would have a look at these two things:
    1. Open up system information and make sure all 8GB is being detected by Windows.
    2. Next time you're playing BF1, open up task manager and sort by RAM usage. See which processes are using the most memory and how much. I'm interested in how much BF1 is using, and if anything else you've never heard of before is using a significant amount.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  12. beanycheese

    beanycheese Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2016
    Posts:
    395
    Roleplay name:
    Maxine Westen
    ew
    you seem like you have a computer from the 90's

    In actual advice, I used to have the same problem, it was a problem with my RAM and my Motherboard going bad.
     
  13. Walter

    Walter Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Posts:
    90
    Roleplay name:
    Walter Ruggiero
    Is something throttling your CPU? Go to task manager, Close out all Background Applications and any windows open and try to run battlefield.
    If that dosen't work maybe mess with the in game settings?
     
  14. Markoozy

    Markoozy Retired Sever Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,901
    Roleplay name:
    Marko Milosevic
    BF1 was by far leading the charge in terms or RAM usage. All 8 GB of my RAM are detected, otherwise I'd be having many more issues than just Battlefield.

    I'll probably get 8 more gigs of RAM and see if that fixes it. It's only $60, and more RAM could never hurt.
     
  15. Canadian-bacon

    Canadian-bacon Server Admin

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Posts:
    710
    Roleplay name:
    Hima Lowa
    Of course I was right! Hooza!
     
  16. Mewthree

    Mewthree Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Posts:
    873
    Roleplay name:
    Quavious Charko
    Just download some more RAM for free
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  17. DAWG

    DAWG Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Posts:
    339
    Roleplay name:
    Eren Diamond
    It won't.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1